Meet the Author


Sir Peter Murray

Sir Peter Murray founded the Yorkshire Sculpture Park in 1977, which became Museum of the Year 2014. Some of the major exhibitions he has organised at Yorkshire Sculpture Park include Henry Moore and Landscape, Emile Antoine Bourdelle, Elisabeth Frink, Lynn Chadwick, Phillip King, Fritz Wotruba, Gio Pomodoro, Kan Yasuda, Magdelena Abakanowicz, Joel Shapiro, Auke de Vries, Marino Marini, Barbara Hepworth, Eduardo Chillida, William Turnbull, James Turrell, Isamu Noguchi, Nigel Hall, David Nash, Jaume Plensa, Tony Cragg, Joan MirĂ³, Ursula von Rydingsvard, Sir Anthony Caro and Andy Goldsworthy, which won the South Bank Show Award for Visual Arts. In 1988, Murray was awarded the National Arts Collection Fund Award and in 1989 was made Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Art, as well as Fellow of the Royal Society of British Sculptors. He has been awarded Honorary Doctorates from the University of Lincolnshire and North Humberside, the University of Huddersfield, York University and the University of the Arts, London. In 1996, Murray was awarded an OBE for services to the arts and more recently received a CBE for continued services to the arts. In 2022, he received a Knighthood. In 2012, Murray received both the National Critics Circle Art and Architecture Award and the Catalan Ramon Llull Award for Creative Arts, awarded in conjunction with the Principate of Andorra. He was a member of the Board and Vice President of the International Sculpture Centre in the USA and has been a Trustee of the Marino Marini Museum in Florence and the Paolozzi Foundation. He is a Trustee of Springhornhof, Germany and a member of the Advisory Board of the Middleheim Museum, Belgium.

Works by the Author

The Phoenician Alphabet

Nayla Romanos Iliya

Co-published with Rose Issa Projects